No network connection and IPSEC Services service fails to start ‘Cannot find the specified file’

After virtualizing yet another server onto our vSphere platform I was confronted by a bunch of annoying Windows policies. I decided to disable them by renaming the registry keys HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft, HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies and HKCU\SOFTWARE\Policies. This was the cause of my problems. I decided to do this quick ‘hack’ because the server is on it’s way out. It has several software problems and will be out of service soon.

After the reboot I was able to configure the server the way I wanted. I realized, however, it did not have any network connectivity anymore. After some searching I found that the IPSEC Services service failed with the error ‘Error 2: Cannot find the file specified’. I checked the path to the executable “C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe” and it was fine. The executable was there too and it had the same size as a correctly working server.

I turned to Google and quickly found my problem and the solution: KB912023. It was quite clear I was the cause of this problem. What a waste of time, sigh. Enough reason to put it on this blog!

Anyway, the solution to this problem was quite simple. Open a DOS box and execute these commands (last command will reboot the server):

REGSVR32 POLSTORE.DLL && net start PolicyAgent

shutdown -r -t 0

About Yuri de Jager
Technology Addict

2 Responses to No network connection and IPSEC Services service fails to start ‘Cannot find the specified file’

  1. Reedler says:

    Just stumbled on this article and it brought my VM back to life! Thanks!

  2. Excellent, worked for me!

Leave a Reply

