vMotion fails with the error A general system error occurred Invalid fault

I experienced vMotion errors. I recieved the generic error ‘A general system error occured: Invalid fault’ when trying to vMotion a VM. The VM itself ran fine.

I found VMware KB1014371. I analyzed the logs files of the ESXi host. I couldn’t pinpoint the cause. My error was different to that in the KB article. In the end, the solution was pretty simple. Shutdown the VM. Remove it from inventory. vMotion all VM’s from the ESX hosts (by putting it in maintenance mode), reboot the ESXi host. Ofcourse I re-added the VM, etc.

Since then, the error has not returned. If it does return, I must dive deeper into the cause of the problem, but for now, the ESXi reboot was a quick fix.

About Yuri de Jager
Technology Addict

3 Responses to vMotion fails with the error A general system error occurred Invalid fault

  1. Le Squale says:

    I experienced the same error message. I noticed that I had some dead path in the storage adapters view. “Rescan All” solved the problem.

  2. nathan says:

    Rescan all solved my problem too thanks

Leave a Reply

