VMware vCenter 4.1 upgrade Error 1923. Service VMware Virtual Center Server (vpxd) could not be installed.

UPDATE: Thanks to Little Ghost (see comment below), a reboot seems unnecessary! Just close all MMC Windows and click retry =)

While updating my vCenter Server to version 4.1, I received the following error: “Error 1923. Service VMware Virtual Center Server (vpxd) could not be installed. Verify that you have sufficient privileges to install system services. Etc.”

This seemed strange to me, because I was installing under the local Administrator account. That account surely has enough privileges. Not that I had any choice to begin with…

I had to rollback the installation. But because my database was already converted to the new 4.1 format, I had no choice other then to fix this error and try again. When I saw the VMware VirtualCenter Server service was disabled, I thought that might be the problem. But when I tried to set it to manual startup, I received the error “The specified service is marked for deletion”.

This gave me a hint to the very simple solution to this problem: Reboot the server and try the installation again.

I changed the account for the services after installation.

Please note that if you were running vSphere 4.0 Update 2, you actually go down in version number from 261974 to 260247. I didn’t notice this before, but it might be common for major upgrades. Even stranger is that the hardware status states I’m still running 4.0.0 build 261974. Weird.

Update: After a few minutes, my hardware status was updated from 15 to 381 sensors =) I guess the agent was still collecting data when I first looked. The new sensor data shows the correct version.

About Yuri de Jager
Technology Addict

7 Responses to VMware vCenter 4.1 upgrade Error 1923. Service VMware Virtual Center Server (vpxd) could not be installed.

  1. ampersize says:

    Thanks I had the same problem minutes ago and a reboot “fixed” it.

    Nobody knows why…

  2. Marc says:

    Thanks. We had the same error when upgrading from vSphere 4.1 to 5.0.
    Thank you VMware for such a good installer ;-)

  3. Oleg S says:

    You can avoid the reboot by waiting until you get the error prompt and then go into services and enable the vmware converter service and then click retry.

  4. Little Ghost says:

    We had the same problem when upgrading from vSphere 4.1 to 5.0.
    Closing all MMC-Windows (Services…. :) ) and clicking Retry solved the problem

  5. Hussam says:

    thank you it was great help :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

