Windows Update keeps asking for a restart: Continued

Ok, to sum things up: I didn’t fix it. I just didn’t have the time to monitor registry and/or the file system to exactly track what happened. I will list what I HAVE done.

First I’d like to thank Greg Bray for being the first to leave a comment on my blog =) His suggestion is valid if you don’t want to be nagged all the time, but it isn’t useful if you want to install IE8.

My problem seems to be the fact that I installed the MSDN version of IE8, namely Beta 2, while the RC1 was already available to the public. When I tried to install that, the installer needed to uninstall Beta 2 first. No problems so far. After the reboot, however, the installer didn’t continue and manually restarting it didn’t help, because of the persistence of the Windows Update client telling me to reboot. The IE8 setup told me (I have to recall this from memory because I did take a screen shot, d0h) ‘Setup cannot continue because another update is waiting for a reboot’.

I feel real stupid, because I didn’t save the setup logs before imaging my PC, so now I have to retrace my steps. Ok, here goes.

– C:\Windows\IE8.log: RegOpenKeyEx failed with error 0x2. No solutions found. This seems to be a generic error though, it is also in my IE8.log now, and the installation went OK.

– Uninstall IE7. This fixed nothing. Both the IE7 and IE8 installation now report the same error. Only thing proven by this, is that it’s no a IE7/IE8 setup error.

– I checked the REG_MULTI_SZ key PendingFileRenameOperations in HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager. It was empty.

– Reset the permissions on the HKCR and HKLM keys in the registry. No change.

– Started my computer in a clean state. I opened msconfig and selected diagnostic start up thereby disabling any non-critical service and program including anti-virus. I ran the setup. No change.

– Rebooted in Safe Mode and tried to install. Same error.

– I created the DWORD registry key InstalledByUser in HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer. I got this from http://www.ie-vista.com/known_issues.html (bullet 6). Same error.

– ‘How to solve Internet Explorer 8 installation problems‘: I followed Microsoft’s instructions and ran the command ‘secedit /configure /cfg %windir%\repair\secsetup.inf /db secsetup.sdb /verbose’. It reported that permissions on some keys could not be reset. The error was still there, but I ran out of time to troubleshoot.

So, I rebooted, fired up RIS. Waited, installed SP3, rebooted, installed IE7, rebooted, installed IE8, rebooted, installed Office 2003 SP3, rebooted, installed all other updates from the Windows Updates site (except Windows Search 4.0, yuck). And all was fine. Until… see my next blog post =P

About Yuri de Jager
Technology Addict

Leave a Reply

